Help, FAQs, Videos, Forums, Support...

Permissions & Settings FAQs

1. What is the Permissions & Settings Section?
2. How do we add our company's logo to our Deskaway account?
3. What are categories and why should we create them?
4. If I sign up for a paid plan, where does my logo get displayed on my DeskAway site?
5. Can anyone create categories?
6. How do we disable a team member?
7. We have maxed out our current plan. What should we do?
8. What permissions are allowed for a file / document?
9. Can we turn off email notifications?
10. Can I change my company and domain name once I signup?
11. Who is an Account Owner?
12. Can I see a detailed permission chart for Super, Regular & Limited users?
13. Can the Super User control everyone's email reminders?
14. I don't like the default blue theme. Can I change the theme to suit my company colors?
15. What is SSL and does DeskAway support it?
16. Can I change the company name of my DeskAway account?
17. Can all users in my project delete messages?
18. Can an account owner edit or delete projects if he/she is not assigned to the project team?
19. If someone is not assigned to a project, does that person see the Project Title and simply not have access, or is that project completely invisible for that person?


1. What is the Permissions & Settings Section?
This section contains the permissions and settings for your DeskAway account. It is only viewable by the Super User (who has access to the 'Settings' tab).

Permissions & Settings

2. How do we add our company's logo to our Deskaway account?
You can replace the DeskAway logo on the top left corner of the system, by uploading your own company logo from the Settings tab. The logo file should be 250px X 100px and in GIF format. Free plan users cannot upload their company logo.

Company's Logo to our Deskaway Account

3. What are categories and why should we create them?
Categories are ways of organizing or labelling your data. You can categorize your projects, blogs and also categorize your team into departments.

4. If I sign up for a paid plan, where does my logo get displayed on my DeskAway site?
Your logo will be displayed in 2 places:
a. the login screen
b. top left corner of every page

Basically, the current DeskAway logo will be swapped with the logo you upload.

5. Can anyone create categories?
No. Only Super Users are allowed to create categories.

6. How do we disable a team member?
There are 2 ways to do this:
  • If you only want to disable a team member from a project, then go to the Project and then click on the Team link. Here, you can click on the 'green' button to disable the person. The button should turn 'red'. This person will not have access to this project anymore.

  • If you want to disable a person from the entire DeskAway system, then go to the Settings tab and click on the 'green' button next to the person's name. When it turns red, this person will not be allowed to login to the DeskAway account.
7. We have maxed out our current plan. What should we do?
If you have used up all your projects or files for the current plan and wish to upgrade, goto the Settings tab and click on "Account Information". Here, you will find instructions to upgrade and pay online. Only Account Owners can access this. Learn More.

8. What permissions are allowed for a file / document?
A file/doc can have the folllowing permissions:
  • Private: only you can access
  • Public: everyone on the project can access (even if a new person joins the team)
  • Shared: I can choose to share the file with only a few people
9. Can we turn off email notifications?
Yes. You can turn off email notifications for tasks from your settings tab.

10. Can I change my company and domain name once I signup?
No, not at the moment. You will have to email to do this. Please email your account name and the email address you signed up with.

11. Who is an Account Owner?
By default, the person who created the DeskAway account is the Account Owner (and a Super User). The Account Owner can give up the ownership to someone else in the team. This person should be someone with authority to upgrade the account and request a full backup.

12. Can I see a detailed permission chart for Super, Regular & Limited users?
Yes, click here to see the permission chart.

13. Can the Super User control everyone's email reminders?
Yes, a Super User, having access to the "Settings" tab, can control the email reminders for all the Users. Simply, go to the "General Settings" section within the "Settings" tab & Enable or Disable the email reminder for the required user.

14. I don't like the default blue theme. Can I change the theme to suit my company colors?
Absolutely. You can change the navigation and color of the links throughout the application to match your company/team branding. See the themes video here.

15. What is SSL and does DeskAway support it?
DeskAway is 256-bit SSL encryption-enabled. What this means is that the data that you send between your computer and the DeskAway server is encrypted. Its like sending a coded message. If you bank online or use ecommerce sites then you have already used SSL. SSL will make it very difficult for unauthorized people to view information traveling between your computer and the DeskAway server.

16. Can I change the company name of my DeskAway account?
Yes, as an Account Owner you can change the Company name. Go to the "Settings" tab and scroll down to the section which says "Change your company name. You can change the company name as many times as you wish. The updated name will be seen when adding a new team member into that company (from the Team tab).

17. Can all users in my project delete messages?
No, only the message creator, Super Users and the Project Lead can delete messages within a Project. Regular or Limited Users cannot delete messages added by other users.

18. Can an account owner edit or delete projects if he/she is not assigned to the project team?
No, if an account owner is not assigned to the project then he/she cannot edit or delete a project. An account owner will be able to see this project on the Project Listing page but will not be able to access it. Only a Super User within the project will be able to edit or delete the project.

19. If someone is not assigned to a project, does that person see the Project Title and simply not have access, or is that project completely invisible for that person?
If you don't want to give the access of all the projects to some particular users then please add those users as Regular Users in your DeskAway account.
In DeskAway, the unassigned projects are completely invisible for the Regular & Limited Users. You can add your staff/clients as regular users and don't give them the access to the main Report page from "Give this user access to" check box options inside the team member add/edit page.

Or