Help, FAQs, Videos, Forums, Support...

Team FAQs

1. What is a Team?
2. Who forms part of the Team?
3. Does everyone in the Team section have all the same permissions?
4. Can everyone add new team members to the system?
5. How are team members added to a project?
6. How many team members can be added to a project?
7. What if a team member leaves the company?
8. How do you check your team members login status?
9. What is the Timezone feature?
10. Can I add a Team Member who is not a part of my company?
11. How can I remove a user from a particular project?
12. If I delete a team member what happens to the tasks that they were assigned to him/her. Will I lose them?
13. How do I shut off all emails from DeskAway for any project activity?
14. When I was setting up my team list I opted to not have emails sent to the team members because I wanted to play around in the app before my team started receiving anything. How do I change the setting so that they receive a welcome email and can setup their login credentials?
15. I have added some Users in my DeskAway account, but while adding Milestones & Task within a Project I can not find these Users in the assign to drop down options. What am I doing wrong?


1. What is a Team?
This is the team within your company that has access to your DeskAway system. It is advisable that all team people within a company, that have basic computer knowledge be given access to the system as users. When more/ all of your company is on the system, it will be easier to access all company data, keep all tasks and projects in one secure area and the search functionality will be most effective.

Team

2. Who forms part of the Team?
Anyone who has been given access to the DeskAway system is a part of the Team. By giving access, all the team person's basic information (contact, employment) is stored within the system, and the team member can then get a secure login account to access the system. He can then be added to a project, assigned tasks, have files and documents shared with him, view the blog and common calendar et cetera.

3. Does everyone in the Team section have all the same permissions?
No. There are 3 levels of access:

a. Super Users:
A DeskAway Super User has all the privileges of a Regular User and more:
  • Add other team members to DeskAway (if given permission from the settings tab by another Super User).
  • Add new projects and assign people to those projects.
  • Use the Settings tab to configure settings in DeskAway (if given permission from the settings tab by another Super User).
  • Add a milestone within a project.
b. Regular Users:
A DeskAway Regular User has all the privileges of a Limited User and more:
  • Share contacts.
  • Add events in calendar.
  • Share blogs.
c. Limited Users
A DeskAway Limited User has the following privileges:
  • View assigned projects.
  • Add/Edit/Delete task lists and tasks.
  • Upload and share files.
  • Create and share docs.
  • Post messages.
  • View calendar for due milestones and projects.
  • Search through information that is shared with this user.
A Limited User does not get access to the Team, Contact, Blog, Reports and Settings tabs.

TIP: If you want to collaborate with someone outside your company then its a good idea to give that person a Limited User access. The word "Limited" will not show on the user-interface for Limited Users.

4. Can everyone add new team members to the system?
No. Only people who can view the "Team" tab can add new team members. By default, all Super Users can add new team members. A Regular/Limited User will not see the Team tab and therefore, cannot add people to the DeskAway Account.

5. How are team members added to a project?
The Project Lead and the Super User on that Project can both view their Team section within a Project, and choose who gets assigned or removed from a Project.

Assigned or Removed from a Project

6. How many team members can be added to a project?
There is no limit on the number of team members to a project. The minimum is one. The creator of the Project is automatically added to the Project as the initial team member.

7. What if a team member leaves the company?
You can easily disable his/her account by going to the 'Settings' tab and clicking on the Enable/Disable button.

You can delete a user permanently from the Team tab. Please note that none of the user's files, tasks, etc. will be removed.

8. How do you check your team members login status?
You can do this by following these steps:
  • Login to your account
  • Go to the Team tab
  • Here, you will see a login status of each team member and when they last signed in.
  • If they have not signed in, you can click on their email id and send them a quick note. Additionally, you can even check the status of a team member by going into a project; their name and status will be mentioned on the left-hand side.
Login Status

9. What is the Timezone feature?
Timezone functionality does the following:
  • Adjusts time in the calendar
  • Adjusts any other time that you see in the app. Time is displayed to the user in his/her timezone.
Timezone

10. Can I add a Team Member who is not a part of my company?
Yes, you can add any Team Members from other Companies.
Go to the Team page, click on the "Add Team Member" link, select "No" for the section "Is this person a part of My Testing Company?". Now, either select a company that is already present in the drop down or add a new company that this person is a part of. Please note that the company name that you add here is not the same as the company name under the Contacts section.
11. How can I remove a user from a particular project?
To remove a user from a particular project , remove the user manually by clicking on the green icon , in the Team Section for the particular project.

Remove Team Member

12. If I delete a team member what happens to the tasks that they were assigned to him/her. Will I lose them?
No, the Tasks will not be removed after deleting the users. Those tasks will remain in their respective projects with the deleted user’s username instead of their first name. You should be able to assign these tasks to any other user.
13. How do I shut off all emails from DeskAway for any project activity?
Create a new Silent project or convert an existing project to the Silent status.

14. When I was setting up my team list I opted to not have emails sent to the team members because I wanted to play around in the app before my team started receiving anything. How do I change the setting so that they receive a welcome email and can setup their login credentials?
Just reset the password of the required Team Members by clicking on the "Reset Password" link from the Team page. Then they will get the email with their DeskAway login details and they can access your DeskAway account.

15. I have added some Users in my DeskAway account, but while adding Milestones & Task within a Project I can not find these Users in the assign to drop down options. What am I doing wrong?
After adding a Project you need to assign the Project to the required users. Make that user a part of that Project from the Project Team page.
See: http://s3.amazonaws.com/deskaway-overviews/projectteam/DeskAway-ProjectTeam.html


Or